The curious case of composting a SunChips bag

My husband and I went to a party this weekend to watch the USA in their (last) World Cup game. On the way over we stopped at the store to pick up a few things and as we were walking through the chip section, the SunChips bag caught my eye.

Full disclosure – I love SunChips, they are one of my guilty pleasures. I’m not big into potato chips but give me a bag of SunChips and they will be gone in a few minutes. 🙂

Right away I was caught by the big letters on the front of the bag that claimed “world’s first 100% compostable chip package!” Really? I mean, I love you SunChips but do you honestly have what you claim? So of course I had to buy them (right, nothing to do with my love of SunChips here!)

The bag turned into a hot topic of conversation at the party for many reasons but one of the most discussed was how much louder the bag was then other chip bags. I went to the SunChips website this morning to see if I could learn why and here’s what they said:

We dream of a world with less waste. That’s why we’ve introduced a bag made from plants so it’s fully compostable. Every 10 ½ oz. SunChips® package is designed to fully break down in just 14 weeks when placed in a hot, active compost bin or pile. If it takes a little longer, don’t worry about it. Mother nature will get to it soon enough.

Truth be told, our new bag sounds a bit different than our previous bags. That’s because plant-based materials have different sound properties than the materials used to create our old bags. So although this version is a little bit louder, we hope you’ll appreciate the change and the positive environmental impact it will have.”

Very interesting 🙂

So anyways, Tim and I brought the bag home with us as we compost and want to give this a try. If it works, I think SunChips will become a proud pleasure as I appreciate anyone / any company who tries to find new ways to do things. INNOVATION is what we need in our food industry and I’ll report back to let you know if it’s actually composting. It says it will break down in around 14 weeks. Here’s hoping!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jackie Houde on June 28, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I’m curious myself to see if it actually works. SunChips are my favorite! The new bag is soooo loud but if its better for the environment I can deal with it! We don’t have a compost so you’ll have to let me know.

    Reply

  2. My sincere hope is that other manufacturers will follow suit. SunChips also needs to stop using synthetic dyes in the chips – the ingredient list needs to be as impressive as the bag.

    Reply

Leave a comment