Yoga, Flow Yoga

During the spring and summer I walk to and from work, it’s around 5 miles a day, about 20 miles a week. I feel completely amazing during this time – the walking gives me time to clear my head, relax and just be. It also has the added benefit of keeping me in shape 😉

Once the weather turns cold, I stop walking as the sidewalks get icy and it’s just to hard to carry all the gear needed in Boston in the winter. But then I start feeling fat and unsure what to do about it (its to cold to walk, I hate the gym, I’m feeling stressed, etc).  To help with this my husband introduced me to Gentlel Yoga a few months back and the most amazing yoga teacher I’ve ever had the pleasure of learning from. While I enjoy her class immensely, it wasn’t a strong enough workout to replace the 20+ miles I would walk in a week. So Monday night I agreed to try Slow Flow Yoga with my cousin Rachel. She goes three times a week (total rock star) and was telling me how much better she feels, etc. I was really nervous to try as I have this thing about hot rooms (actually anything that feels remotely sauna-like sends me into a mild panic) but I went anyway. I think the room was around 85 (and I did panic about 4 times and had to just sit on my mat for a minute) and when they say ‘flow’ they really mean it! The class moved the entire 75 minutes and it was a killer workout! I am still sore today but am going back tonight for another class! I have a feeling I’m still going to have a hard time with the heat but as Rachel said “maybe it will be good for me” 🙂

What are your thoughts on Flow Yoga? Any tips on how to navigate the heat?

Leave a Reply

