Thanksgiving and Cranberries

Today Tim and I are attending our annual friends Thanksgiving today. There are about 22 of us who are each contributing a part of the meal and I’m really looking forward to a relaxing day with good friends, good food and I’m sure plenty of laughs. Tim and I are bringing the cranberries and I wanted to share the recipe as it’s one of the things I look forward to eating at Thanksgiving every year. Enjoy!!

 

Holiday Chutney
Ingredients:
1 20 -ounce can unsweetened pineapple chunks( I use tidbits or crushed)
2 cups sugar( I go under a bit)
1 lb cranberries(frozen is fine)
1 cup golden raisins
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

Drain juice from pineapple and combine juice with sugar, cranberries, raisins, and spices. Simmer in a saucepan for 15 minutes or until cranberries are tender. Add pineapple and walnuts and transfer to a serving bowl. Refrigerate until chilled.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Emily N. on November 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Jenny! You read my mind…I actually started an e-mail to you today asking for this cranberry recipe (hoping this is the one you made for the office two years ago), because MAN was that delicious. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

